Search by Category

Asia Society
Show Data
2017 Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism in Asia

Now in its fourteenth year, Asia Society’s “Oz Prize” is the premier honor bestowed for excellence in journalism on Asia. It honors the late Osborn Elliott, the legendary journalist and longtime Newsweek editor, who set new standards for reporting and editing and became one of the earliest practitioners of "civic journalism."

Join us as the host of the The Takeaway on WNYC and PRI, John Hockenberry, moderates a conversation featuring this year’s honoree. Jury Chair Marcus Brauchli, Managing Partner at North Base Media and former executive editor of The Washington Post, will present the 2017 award.

Past winners of the Oz Prize include: Surdarsan Raghavan of The Washington Post (2016), Bloomberg News team (2015), Reuters team (2014), Bloomberg News team (2013), April Rabkin, Fast Company (2012), Keith Bradsher of The New York Times (2010), International Herald Tribune team (2009), Shai Oster of The Wall Street Journal (2008), Evan Osnos of the Chicago Tribune (2007), Barbara Demick of the Los Angeles Times and Matthew McAllester of Newsday (2006), Philip P. Pan of The Washington Post (2005), John Pomfret of The Washington Post (2004), and Elisabeth Rosenthal of The New York Times (2003).

Personal Basket